The Mapmaker's Daughter

The Mapmaker's Daughter

Author: John Pilkington

Format: Kindle Edition

Pages: 276

Publisher: Sharpe Books

Release Date: December 09, 2019

Description du Livre

“Pilkington’s latest takes this long-running and popular series to a new level.” Booklist

Thomas the Falconer is drawn into a web of intrigue that tests him as never before.

A tragic fire at one of his master’s tenant farms is just the start of a tortuous trail for Thomas Finbow – for when the body of Simon Haylock is dragged from the blazing barn, it becomes clear that he was dead before the fire started.

Soon a chilling series of murders, seemingly unrelated, is spreading fear across the Berkshire Downs, baffling the authorities. Plague is raging in London and suspicion falls on strangers in the area, like the dour mapmaker Christopher Mead and the outrageous travelling showman Paulo Schweiz, whom Thomas rescues from the stocks.

Thomas finds himself matching wits with a cunning and elusive adversary. With the help of Paulo’s astonishing magic lantern show he finally exposes a killer, along with a brutal crime that has lain unsolved for years.

Only then can he unravel the bitter trail of revenge that has led to the murders – with surprising results, until a brutal crime that has lain hidden for years is brought to light by astonishing means - and with terrible consequences.

Recommended for fans of Michael Jecks, CJ Samson and Rory Clements.

John Pilkington was born in Preston, into one of the oldest Lancashire families. He writes historical fiction as well as drama which has been adapted for radio, theatre and tv, He is the author of the Thomas the Falconer Mystery series, including The Ruffler's Child and A Ruinous Wind.

Praise for John Pilkington:

‘A sturdy and entertaining historical for fans of Elizabethan mysteries.’ Library Journal

‘Pilkington’s third Thomas the Falconer historical offers a real treat… This tale gives an authentic sense of Elizabethan life’s visceral side with all its lawlessness and brutality, including a climactic battle.’ Publishers Weekly

'The story moves at a great pace… it made a welcome change to discover Elizabethan England through the eyes of a lesser mortal.' The Historical Novels Review

Commentaires
Andrée Bédard
Je vous recommanderai à mes collègues. Leur miracle de Noël est les livres les plus précieux que nous ayons jamais achetés. Je serais perdu sans ça. Je suis complète ment époustouflé.
Blanchefle Morneau
Enfin, je reçois cet ebook, merci pour tous ces miracles de Noël que je peux obtenir maintenant!
Gradasso Martel
Leur Miracle de Noel était le meilleur livre que j’ai jamais acheter. Leur Miracle de Noel a fait exactement ce que tu as dit qu’il faisait.
Alphonse Ratté
Je tiens à vous remercier personnellement pour vos livres exceptionnels. C’est vraiment merveilleux.
Émilie Aucoin
Mes amis sont tellement fous qu’ils ne savent pas comment j’ai tous les ebook de haute qualité qu’ils n’ont pas!